A day of days…

Posted on August 23, 2009


Today was a lovely day. Started off painting, finished off painting, and explored my clothed modeling potential throughout the hours in between. I drank way too much coffee this morning, felt a little shaky when painting, so called it quits and hustled off to pick up Angel and go meet Teri Montoya, a lovely photographer who does boudoir style shots, very classy and sexy, but no where near the business I came from. I was a bit nervous today, not because the shots would be sexy, but because I haven’t been in front of a camera since I quit, and I haven’t had a full face of make-up since I cried it all off on the first day in rehab.

Teri was wonderful, respectful, incredibly easy to work with. She wanted to make me as comfortable as possible, and I certainly felt comfortable once I sat down with her and started the shoot. The only thing that made me uncomfortable was the full face of make-up. And not because I didn’t like it, in fact, Angel did a bang up job on my face, I just felt funny all made up, no place to go, as Jennie. I never wear make up now, too much hassle, too much mess to take off at night, too much effort. Thank god for Angel and her magic brush skills, I have no idea how to make myself beautiful anymore. And I forgot how heavy fake eyelashes are. Go figure.

Teri showed me a couple of the shots, and I was blown away. A couple reasons. The first being that as I’ve never had my picture taken without being stoned, I didn’t realize just how much getting fucked up effects the way I look. Silly, I know, but just something that slipped by me because I saw my face in the mirror and looked the same as I did in the photos…which then, was high. This time, I saw the face in the mirror, all made up, and the face in the picture, and dwam. I must say I look good. Great in fact.

Second, Teri is an amazing photographer. The majority of people I’ve had the pleasure to work with just don’t have her style, and working with such a talented woman made all the difference. Third? The point of every photo shoot I’ve ever done is to get naked. This one? Keep all the clothes on. And for some reason I had convinced myself at one point that my pictures were better off nude. I’ll have to thank Teri for proving me wrong. You can see for yourself…a sneak peak, two shots. It’s sexy, so look out…

TeriMontoyaPhotography.comTeriMontoyaPhotography.com

After the shoot was over, it was back home to play with the old paints and work on a little project I am calling “Just Add Water”.
Just Add Water

Over all, I’d have to say it was a lovely day. Tomorrow its off to the market for coconut cakes and coffee, flowers and perhaps some cheese, and then relax time at the pool around the corner. I have not a single thing to complain about today, and that feels pretty great.

Posted in: Good Days