Merry Christmas!

Posted on December 25, 2009

31


Oh, the weather outside is frightful,
But the fire is so delightful,
And since we’ve no place to go,
Let it snow, let it snow, let it snow.

My sister and I woke this morning earlier than my brother and father. We raced downstairs to smoke our early morning cigarettes over coffee. She doesn’t drink coffee, only energy drinks, so the pot was all mine, and for my dad who still slept in bed. The sky has cleared, the past two days of fog and clouds seem like a dream, and there isn’t a cloud in the sky. It’s beautiful here today, my breath was frosty in the morning air, and the sun melted the frost from the grass. We came inside to wrap our presents, and paint some wooden crayons we bought for dad, like the wooden crayon I made for him as a child. I painted mine pink like the old one, the one which has been lost. My sister’s crayon was blue and my brother’s green. We stuck magnets on the back so they could chill on the fridge. We left them in the bathroom to dry after writing “Jennie Did This- xmas 09” on the front. My sister wrote her name, and we went back downstairs to wait for the men of the house to wake up.

It doesn’t show signs of stopping,
And I brought some corn for popping;
The lights are turned way down low,
Let it snow, let it snow, let it snow.

My dad woke up and came down to make coffee. I’d already tried my hand at the coffee maker, couldn’t find the grinds he uses so I used some hotel stuff I found in a cupboard. He laughed at me and my ghetto rigged coffee, and I went outside again to smoke. My sister and I talked about snuggies, and the amazing new pet snuggie, whether or not Saucy and Sensei would be down with such a thing. I think both my girls would, and if they didn’t I’d make them love it. I wouldn’t but I’d certainly try. Dad started getting the turkey ready, and Sis and I couldn’t stand waiting for my brother to wake up so we rushed his room, jumped in his bed and started shaking him violently, screaming “It’s Christmas! Santa came!” until he rolled over and used some awesome Marine move to subdue us. He said he’s going to teach me some pressure points later today, along with some super sleeper holds. he said not to hold for over 6 seconds or I may kill someone. Maybe I’ll just stick with the pressure points. He wrote his name on the green crayon and we all ran downstairs to open presents.

When we finally say good night,
How I’ll hate going out in the storm;
But if you really hold me tight,
All the way home I’ll be warm.

We opened presents, a light and loving celebration. My brother gave me a lovely sweater and my sister a great scarf and cool snuggly socks. I gave him a Carhart jacket, and her a dress with skulls and a mustard yellow scarf. I gave my father a new coffee maker (he’s been using the one from my childhood, the same coffee maker since the divorce), and we ran upstairs to get the crayon magnets. He loved them. He gave me a piece of driftwood with a face carved into it, one of three pieces I’ve seen in every home up to the point of the divorce. He gave me the one I’ve always loved best, somehow he knew… Guess Dads know that kind of stuff.

The fire is slowly dying,
And, my dear, we’re still good-bye-ing,
But as long as you love me so.
Let it snow, let it snow, let it snow.

The battery to my computer won’t stay in a charge mode and I think it’s time for a visit to the apple store. But there will be time for that when I return to LA, back to life, my canvas and my journal. For today, I’m happy to be in this home, with these wonderful people, and enjoying this lovely holiday. And even though it’s highly unlikely, I wouldn’t mind if it snowed…Merry Christmas to all… and to all a good night. xoxoox

Posted in: Good Days